Home » Investment » Banking » From December 31st, cheque books of these Banks will be Invalid

From December 31st, cheque books of these Banks will be Invalid

A recent notification by the government reads that cheque books of account holders of SBIs former six associate banks which includes Bhartiya Mahila Bank will be put out of action from December 31st.

Earlier, the deadline was September 30th; however, State Bank of India (SBI) later extended the date to the end of this month, In October, the financial institution said on a micro-blogging site Twitter that

The validity of cheques of former associate banks has been extended till 31st December, 2017. Apply for a new SBI cheque book.

By the same token, the bank has asked the account holders to apply for new cheque books before the deadline in order to avoid any inconvenience. The customers are also getting option to apply for the new cheque book by using internet banking, mobile banking, or by visiting home branch.

The government issued a notification for public interest, asking the customers of SBIs former associate banks to apply for new SBI cheque books as soon as possible.

The notification was issued months after the government merged the SBI (State Bank of India) with its five of its associate banks which includes Bhartiya Mahila Bank as well.

Before the merge took place, SBIs six associate banks were Bank of Patiala, State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur, State Bank of Raipur, State Bank of Travancore, State Bank of Hyderabad and Bhartiya Mahila Bank.

Once this merging took place, the State – run bank joined the league of top 50 banks globally in terms of assets.

In order to get the new cheque books, the customers are asked to submit applications for new cheque books in the replacement of the old cheque books.

The new cheque book will exhibit the IFSC (Indian Financial System Code).

A little while back, the SBI changed names and Indian Financial System Code (IFSC) of nearly 1,300 of its 25,000 branches in the country’s major cities owning to its merger with five associate banks and Bhartiya Mahila Bank…Read More

IFSC Code is the eleven – character code which is assigned by the RBI (Reserve Bank of India) to every bank in order to identify every bank branches uniquely that are participating in NEFT (National Electronic Fund Transfer) system in India. And this code is used by electronic payment system applications such as NEFT, RTGS (Real Time Gross Settlement), and CFMS (Centralised Funds Management System).

And also mostly changes happened with regard to name and IFSC Code has been done in New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Bangalore, Hyderabad and Lucknow.

How to get a new Chequebook?

In order to get a new cheque book, customers are required to visit the nearest bank branch or they can also use the ATM or bank’s mobile app.

However, the website address for availing new banking services post – merger will be https://www.onlinesbi.com/

And in case if you were an account holder of the associate bank, you are not required to go through the registration process as your log in user name or log in password will remain same.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related Articles